Bonjour

This blog name is a homage to a movie that captures my decision to enter medical school. Not the whole “To get my boyfriend back I’m going to get into Harvard Law School and show him I’m smart” bit necessarily but the scene where Reese Witherspoon’s character, Elle Woods, hands her professor her pink, scented resume and he says to his colleague incredulously “Do you think she just woke up one day and thought ‘I think I’ll go to law school’?”

I was feeling directionless at the end of my degree. I’d decided I didn’t want to work in advertising, or watch advertising, or even think about purchasing anything that had been advertised. Ever. In my infinite wisdom (that came from being awake at 2am and googling “How to get into medicine” whilst sitting on the cold bathroom floor with the door closed as the cranky boyfriend had kicked me and my laptop out of bed) I surmised that trying to get into med school would make me feel better. So far it has.

When I found out I got in a close nurse friend was really supportive and said, “Well, at least you know basic anatomy”

Me: Yeah…*smiling deviantly*

Nursefriend: Er, not that. Like, everyone knows where the tibia is!

Me: *blank stare*

Nursefriend: well you know the femur?

Me: *blank stare*

Nursefriend: The TIBIA? The FEMUR? seriously? Come on. You know what the humerus is?

Me: *singing* Heads and shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes, knees and toes…

Nursefriend: Oh. God. 

I start in a few months. Oh God, indeed. 

 

4 Responses to “Bonjour”

  1. Jeebs Says:

    Thanks for pointing me to your blog (from PD). I am also from a non-science background, but I have managed to learn some basic bones and muscles through the fun flash games that are ‘poke-a-muscle’ and ‘whack-a-bone’. Thought you might find them an instructive and enjoyable way to learn! I did.

    Found here: http://www.anatomyarcade.com/index.html

  2. C Says:

    Oooh, I can see that will be a great addition to my already hectic study schedule consisting of The Anatomy Colouring in Book and a children’s anatomy atlas. Thanks 🙂

  3. Kent Says:

    Hmmm, “C”
    I’m following another med student, (male) to get into his head about dissecting cadavers. It’s part of my research for writing a novel. Now, I’ve been reading your blogs to “get into the head” of a female med student and your “Holy cadaver” popped up. Now I’ve had to read your ramblings for an hour. And, I begin teaching my composition classes to undergrads on the 5th, re-invent my syllabus again, etc.
    I’m watching you…
    Sincerely,
    Prof. DaVault

  4. C Says:

    I’m glad my ramblings have kept you amused for an hour Kent! When I eventually fail medical school I hope I can at least compile them into a decent novel too 🙂 I’ll see if I can do a few more posts on how I feel about anatomy for you. We don’t dissect our own cadavers at my medical school – we have a lab with specimens laid out on tables for us. The first few lab sessions were quite daunting to walk into. really surreal.

    Hope you’re back on track with your syllabus haha.

    C

Leave a Reply

