Vegan Lemon Curd Tart

imgp19341 I love lemon tart, but last time I made it was when I still used eggs and I haven’t been up to making lemony curdy tarty things the vegan way in case they were ‘orrible + upsetting. 

But yesterday I took my hungover self to the kitchen + finally attacked the Lemon Bars from The Joy Of Vegan Baking. Because my hungover state prevented me from leaving the house (or making sudden movements in general) I made do with what we had. 

Despite how ‘orrible my photo is these were great. Lemony curdy goodness. I reduced the sugar, increased the lemon, + doubled the quantities of filling to make it more like a cheesecake thickness. 

Crust

bunch of stale sugar biscuits, smooshed into crumbs

few tablespoons of Nuttelex 

Filling

1 cup of silken tofu

1 1/2 cups of sugar

200ml of lemon juice

4 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons of cornflour

 

Preheat oven to 180 C. Mix crust ingredients together and press into lined dish. Bake for 20 minutes or until browned. Blend all ingredients in blender or processor until frothy. Pour filling into baked crusts and bake for 30 minutes or until filling is set (eg. doesn’t wobble when you move dish).

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

