Stress

stress2It’s ten weeks in and so far I’ve avoided coming down with the evil hacking cough that’s been ripping its way through our cohort, courtesy of a super strict attendance policy & ducted air conditioning in PBL. I don’t know what I’d do if I did get sick. I don’t feel like I can afford to be sick.

or take time out to recover.

or be foggy and unable to concentrate at uni. 

Saying I’ve been stressed is an understatement. There’s been no assessment so far. I have no idea if I’m on the right track with what I’m learning and I’ve lost all desire to cook. Dutchboy and I are fighting over laundry. 

I understand the concepts. It’s just that there are so many concepts in such a short time. One after another after another. I think I’ve studied to the right depth and then *BAM* someone starts banging on about an even deeper level of understanding. A super, super detailed level of understanding. One that I haven’t even considered researching in the two days since we were given the concepts.

I don’t know how much of that is just other students discussing the intricacies of something in a genuine attempt pass on knowledge and how much is me…

just not knowing what I’m supposed to know.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Stress”

  1. doctor007 Says:

    The problem I can see here is that you’re doubting yourself and not everyone else as well. NOBODY knows the correct depth to which you’re supposed to study Homeo. Nobody.
    If you find yourself looking into intracellular pathways, pull back. Those people who know the super-mega small details of everything are just as unsure of how deep to go, the thing is they’re going the other way.

    Homeostasis is not a block for you to understand everything in all levels of detail – you’ll look over much of it again in semester 2 and year 2. Know inflammation well, know blood pressure regulation, know the difference between normal ageing and disease, and probably anaemias (and how you can use FBC and iron studies to determine the cause of anaemia).

    Phew! but, like, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

