Stepping on toes

Uh oh.

I recieved an polite email from an acquaintance who is a chiropractor regarding the studies done that show the minimal risks of spinal manipulation of the neck. I was slightly confused until I  read further down what had happened.

A few months ago, a close friend and I were having dinner. She mentioned how much she hates having her neck ‘cracked’. I told her about a funny lecture we had from a radiologist who declared that we were never to go and let a chiro or osteo touch our neck unless we ordered an ambulance beforehand – he’d seen way too many vertebral artery dissections leading to strokes and death all from patients having their necks ‘cracked’.

That was the radiologist’s opinion. He got a laugh out of the lecture theatre and then continued to show us head CTs of strokes.

I didn’t think anything of our neck cracking conversation until I opened my email recently. My close friend had been with this acquaintance a few weeks ago and had complained of a headache. The acquaintance had casually attempted to put her neck back into alignment. My close friend protested a little too much and then spilled the beans on what I’d told her. Thus acquaintance felt it necessary to defend profession and send email.

AWKWARD.

Is this a trend to come? My instinct is to keep my mouth zipped from now on, and not mention any of my opinions to anyone ever again, even if it is just over dinner (a slightly lonely prospect). Yet at the same time, I feel that if my friend was inherently uncomfortable about a procedure, then she should not have to protest and cite arguments to avoid it happening.

Still, I feel awful about stepping on toes. No one would like to feel like their profession and livelihood is being derided. That was never my intention. Yet no matter how many ways I phrase it in my reply to this acquaintance, I still sound like a stuck up medicalised square. I think I’m going to stick with “Thanks for the info. I found it a great read”.

Then avoid eye contact at birthday parties for the next ten years.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Stepping on toes”

  1. jazziefizzle Says:

    hahahaha ouch that sounds very awkward! ‘thanks for the info’ is the only good response I think hahahaha.

  2. moot Says:

    I think you are within your rights to assert how you feel about a profession provided you can mount some defence of your opinion- which it seems like you can in this case.

    It is an awkward zone- is your opinion actually “professional” ? Or is it still anecdotal. Grey area…

    Nevertheless telling a friend how you feel about a particular area of … the community… sounds fair enough to me. What they do with your point of view is up to them. The discomfort they had when cajoled into a procedure is a separate (and concerning) issue.

Leave a Reply

